Asia Cup Past Winners

asia cup all winner

The ACC Asia Cup is a men’s OneDay worldwide & Twenty20 worldwide cricket match. It was once situated in 1983 when the Asian Cricket Council used to be based as a measure to advertise goodwill between Asian international locations. It used to be initially scheduled to be held each two years.

The first Asia cup was held in 1984 in Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates the place the council’s offices were centered (except 1995).


India boycotted the 1986 match because of strained cricketing members of the family with Sri Lanka. Pakistan boycotted the 1990–91 tournament due to strained political family members with India.


The 1993 tournament was cancelled due to strained political relations between India and Pakistan. The ACC has introduced that the tournament shall be held biennially from 2008 onwards. The ICC has dominated that each one games performed within the Asia Cup have respectable ODI popularity.


After downsizing the Asian Cricket Council in 2015, it was once announced by way of the ICC that Asia Cup routine from 2016 shall be played on a rotation foundation between at some point worldwide and Twenty20 worldwide layout, on the foundation of format of upcoming world events.


Hence, the 2016 occasion was the primary event played in the T20I layout and functioned as a preparatory tournament forward of the 2016 ICC World Twenty20. 


India’s Greatest Comeback Win


India and Sri Lanka are essentially the most successful teams within the ODI format of the event having won the cup five occasions each. Pakistan has additionally received the ODI match two occasions.

India is the most effective crew in the T20I structure having won the inaugural (simplest) variation in 2016. India is the most victorious staff in the event having received it six times (5 occasions in ODI layout and as soon as within the T20 structure)

Asia Cup Past Winners

Year Format Winner Team Runner Up Team Host
1984 ODI India Sri Lanka UAE
1986 ODI Sri Lanka Pakistan Sri Lanka
1988 ODI India Sri Lanka Bangladesh
1990–91 ODI India Sri Lanka India
1995 ODI India Sri Lanka UAE
1997 ODI Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2000 ODI Pakistan Sri Lanka Bangladesh
2004 ODI Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2008 ODI Sri Lanka India Pakistan
2010 ODI India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2012 ODI Pakistan Bangladesh Bangladesh
2014 ODI Sri Lanka Pakistan Bangladesh
2016 T20 India Bangladesh Bangladesh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *